Last Day at Home

Hello everyone!

Since I haven’t really made a proper introductory post quite yet, I thought I should write a little bit about this blog and about myself. 

A quick note:

Some of you might know me already from my previous blog, Noa Blogs Ballet. I decided to open this Tumblr blog because I felt that I needed to have a blog dedicated for my adventures at the Perm Ballet School and only for that. I chose to give Tumblr a whirl because I have a hunch that the more casual posting format will allow me to keep the blogs much more up to date and to give a much deeper peek into my life at PGHU. I really like the WordPress format, but Tumblr allows for a greater variety of posting methods in that I can post a full update if time allows, but also a picture here and there or a snippet of my day if that’s all I’ve got time for. At the same time, the simpler format of Tumblr might lead me to find that it doesn’t suit my needs as I blog about PGHU.

That said, I thought it was worth a try! I will not delete my WordPress blog, Noa Blogs Ballet, although I’m not sure how often I’ll update it, if at all. For now I’m thinking to just go with the flow and see what happens!

Now – onto me, and what this blog will consist of!

I’ll give an abbreviated version of my background (I’ve written it so many times lately that I’m just too tired to write it all out again!)

I started ballet when I was 11, and for the last 8 years I have been trained in the Vaganova technique. For as long as I can remember, I have watched YouTube videos of Vaganova girls and wished I could have that childhood, that training, and that life too. I wanted it for myself, but I always knew it was a dream that would remain only in my fantasies. After all, how can a late-starter, with a body that’s far from the perfect build of the Vaganova girls, who doesn’t even have access to Saturday classes live the life of a Russian ballerina? To be blunt, it’s quite impossible. I mean, as much as I tried to emulate the girls’ movements and train as long and hard as them, unless you are (1) immersed in academy life and surrounded by that very specific, saturated culture, and (2) studying through an actual Vaganova syllabus…well, it’s just not the same.

Still, I kept pushing and I must say I’ve worked very hard to get to where I am today.

Over the last year, I began to seriously consider the possibility of studying in Russia. I am of the school of thought that you must try, if nothing else. If you don’t try, of course you will fail, you haven’t even given yourself a chance! I worked harder than even before, all in the name of maybe, possibly making it – all the while never really allowing myself to get my hopes up. The reality was that the odds were not in my favor to be accepted to the school. 

Fast forward several months, trials, and tribulations later, until 4 July this past summer; this was the day I officially got accepted into the Perm State Choreographic School!

And now, my suitcases sit wide open behind me, waiting for me to finish packing. Today is my last day at home, and tomorrow begins the journey of a lifetime. Tomorrow begins my new life. Tomorrow, I am a Russian ballerina. 

So to cut to the chase! In this blog, I will make every effort possible to share my life as a Russian ballet student with you – everything from the big news to the little things in this life that make it so special! I will post pictures, videos, write updates; I would like for this to become a collection of my experiences in Russia, to give a thorough inside look into this life I have chosen. 

I will say that, being the ambitious person that I am, I have dreams of also writing a book someday. So, I hope you will kindly understand if I keep some stories or information to myself, for now; I will share those too, eventually, but hopefully as a novel in the future! That said, I will make every effort to fill in all the blanks for what I do share here, and I promise to deliver interesting stories and tidbits of my life as a Russian ballerina! 

Currently, I am unsure what the internet status is in Perm. I do know this: I will find a way to get internet, and I really, really, really look forward to start adding content to this blog!

One quick note before I finish off –
The blog itself is a work in progress. I am still working out the kinks and trying to figure out a theme that suits this blog well. I am open to suggestions if anyone has any, and only ask that you be patient as I am using what little free time I do have to tend to this blog! But like I said – suggestions are always welcome!! As are questions or requests of what to write about. 

Well, I must go pack! I leave tomorrow, and so far the closest I’ve come to packing is trying to fit everything into my suitcase, realizing half-way through that there is no possible way, as long as the universe continues to be ruled by the current principles of physics, that I will be able to fit it all in, and ending up with a real big mess in my room – an explosion of all the stuff I need (ok…want…) to take with me. Looks like I’ll have to do some narrowing-down :) 

Failed Attempt at Packing for Perm

Bye for now! I’ll keep everyone updated, for sure! 

Leave a Reply

